Thank You Panel, Reached a Goal

The Jacksonville Women’s Business Center offers intensive mentoring programs to help a woman grow her business. One of our premier programs is the ATHENAPowerLink® program, one of only 29 offered nationwide.  ATHENAPowerLink® targets women-owned businesses that are at least two years old and beyond the initial start-up difficulties.

The program links the business owner with a panel of unpaid advisers who agree to work with her for one year to meet her stated business goals and objectives. Business owners learn to network, access capital and implement best practices from these  volunteer advisers. The results can be transformational.

Here’s a thank-you from a 2012 Athena graduate:

Gina Hill, PE

Gina Hill, PE

Hello my Athena panel friends,

I wanted to update you all on something that you knew I had been working on as far back as the beginning of my Athena program.  I was finally accepted into the Federal Government’s 8(a) program!!  This is the program that is designed to help small businesses gain access into the Federal market place as a Prime Contractor.  It took me well over 3 years to go through this process, and frustrating as it was, my persistence and ‘never give up’ attitude paid off.  I still have more work to do to pursue projects, but I am well on my way.  I wanted to share this with all of you since you are still a big part of everything I try and do with my company.  I keep in the back of my head when I am trying to make a decision: “hmmm…what would my Athena Panel think about this…”  thank you again for all your help and continued support. I will stay in touch as GM Hill Engineering continues to blossom.

 Warm Regards,

Gina M. Hill, P.E.President

G. M. Hill Engineering, Inc.

2013 – “Small Business Leader of the Year” Jacksonville Chamber ~ Entrepreneurial Growth Division

About candacemoody

Candace’s background includes Human Resources, recruiting, training and assessment. She spent several years with a national staffing company, serving employers on both coasts. Her writing on business, career and employment issues has appeared in the Florida Times Union, the Atlanta Journal Constitution and 904 Magazine, as well as several national publications and websites. Candace is often quoted in the media on local labor market and employment issues.
This entry was posted in Entrepreneurship, Jacksonville Women's Business Center News, Mentoring and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thank You Panel, Reached a Goal

  1. Doug Wilder says:

    Candace, you are so right. The JWBC’s Athena program is transformational. As a coach for the Chamber’s Small Business Leaders of the Year, I had the privilege of working with Gina Hill and was able to see the tremendous results of the Athena program. Doug

Leave a Reply

